Ivabradine for Inappropriate Sinus Tachycardia 7.5mg BD: 1 month on.

procoralanI’ve been on Ivabradine (aka Porcolaran) for three months now, but only on the full dose of 7.5mg twice a day for a month. So, what’s happening?

Most of the time my standing heart rate is below 115. Sometimes I get spiky days when it’s up to 120 but I haven’t seen anything more than about 120/122 even on bad days.

Resting HR hasn’t been as good. It’s still often around 95-100 but I have had some lovely 75-80 days.

Unfotunately, for some reason, my OI symptoms are worse. I am blacking out more often and simply can’t stay upright for much more than ten minutes at a time without presyncope, severe breathlessness, blood pooling and other nasties. I have no idea why this is so when my HR is coming down to more sensible levels.

My tremor is much worse when I’m upright too making me wonder about those standing dopamine levels I wish they’d check on. Gravity and I don’t get on very well.

My mid-afternoon crash is getting worse too, where I have to half lie down on the sofa because it’s hard to keep my head up. Not every afternoon, but more often than I used to.

I don’t know whether this is the Dysautonomia side of things or the ME side. My BP is still generally high. It’s a bit annoying that the one side effect of Ivabradine  I could do with -lowers BP – I am not getting!

It’s still early days and there’s more the Prof is going to do with me. Although the OI is worse I still think that as my HR is lower this is a good thing. Perhaps if I get the BP sorted out some of the OI will be sorted too.

If getting the drug cocktail right can at least halt the downward slide, I’ll be happy. I can’t take beta blockers so Ivabradine is it for the IST. The only other thing I can think of for OI might be L-dopa, but we’ll see.

Overall I think, so far so goodish.

READING: NB although many people with POTS or IST can take Ivabradine, it is not safe for patients who also have NMH (Neurally mediated hypotension)

Ivabradine; A Ray of Hope for IST

Ivabradine; Clinical Efficacy in IST

Ivabrdine in the treatment of OI – oh the irony when my OI is worse!

Radiofrequency Cath. Mod Ablation for IST. So far the studies I’ve read on ablation or IST show mixed results with more not working or making things worse than working. In my case I don’t expect to be offered ablation as my lungs are shot. anaesthetics don’t suit me. If your doc offers ablation think and read long and hard before accepting or refusing.

One response to “Ivabradine for Inappropriate Sinus Tachycardia 7.5mg BD: 1 month on.

  1. Hello,

    Thanks for posting this, it gives me hope that the Ivabradine will help me with time. I was diagnosed with IST and possibly POTS recently after alot searching for answers and many doctors..

    Have you found anything else that helps you with your symptoms?
    I have found on cardiologist advise increasing my salt intake and keeping hydrated has helped me almost as much as the Ivabradine so far

    I wish you all the best and hope you continue to feel improvement :)

Leave a Reply

