Tomato and Apricot chutney.

Spinning 3D Jack-o-Lantern It’s that time of year again. Getting ready for Halloween and All Saints, starting the Christmas prep and I suppose if I got organised (LOL) I would even get something sorted for 5th November.

P1000880I bought “culinary” pumpkins this year to make the lanterns with. I thought maybe there would be enough flesh to make something with once I’d hollowed them out-but there really wasn’t. I do however have a pile of seeds. I’ve washed a few and am leaving them to dry overnight and then I’m going to try roasting them and see how it goes. Apparently they are a lovely snack and very good for you. I am a skeptic on all things pumpkin-but I’ll let you know.

Joy To The World Elf The first load of Christmas prep has begun with making a batch of chutney. Had no apples to speak of this year so I decided to try something a little different.

TOMATO AND APRICOT CHUTNEY:

This is my version of the recipe. There are others around but I wasn’t that taken with them. I tried this and it has worked okay so here you go.

P1000882Put oil (about 7 fl oz) into a large pan or cauldron. Heat gently and add a good sprinkling of cumin seeds.

Add about one and half teaspoons of ground cloves, paprika and finely chopped ginger (or ground).

Chop a couple of onions and add to the pan. Stir it through and let it sweat. Be careful not to heat this too fast or you might burn the onions and spices.

Add three or four cloves of chopped garlic.

Pour in one and half cups of apple juice and a cup of cider vinegar.

Add a cup of sultanas or raison and half a cup of dried cranberries. (You could add fresh if you can find any. I can’t at the moment).

Add two and half cups of chopped dried apricots and turn up the heat.

Add a cup of brown sugar and stir it in. I also added a large dollop of course grain mustard and stirred that in at this point.

Add 3 1bs 3 oz (1500g) of drained chopped tomatoes.

P1000883I used one big tin for this which claimed a 1500 g drained weight. Each tin cost £1.38 as a bulk buy of 6. Shop around if you can’t get to Costco.

4 normal size tins drained would be about the same-but don’t use the really cheap ones or you will find all drain-no tomatoes.

Cook this on a high heat until it is boiling and then turn the heat down and let it simmer until the liquid has evaporated.

Stir it now and then to keep the bottom from burning.

Sterilise 5 jars for this batch. [Put jars and lids in the oven at gas 7 for about 8-10 mins or fill with water and microwave for 8 mins or some dishwashers sterilise jars].

Jarred up I think it looks quite Christmassy.

One response to “Tomato and Apricot chutney.

  1. David Goodall

    Thanks for this recipe. I used Orange juice, and added mustard seeds. Also used tomatoes from our garden crop. Yummy

Leave a Reply

