Daily Archives: January 13, 2010

Lets talk special needs first.

I have been reading the transcript from yesterdays House of Commons Debate on the Schools and family Bill. It begins with the debacle over sex ed forced onto primary school children, which I will try and cover in a later post.

Then some Labour bloke called McShane admits that there is some concerns over clause 26 of the bill which he said was about “home teaching”. I have to say that while he was cautiously asking for “flexibility” because of the concerns, I wasn’t impressed. First of all, what kind of flexibility does he think there can be over removing family rights? Secondly I would like to think that those debating a bill, especially the more contentious parts-and baring in mind they take home a pretty good wage for doing so- would have at least read it and know the difference between home teaching and home education. But I realise that will never be the case.

Continue reading