Home education: new books

I always keep an eye on bookshops and curriculums for ideas for books for the children and with some careful planning I can often get books off Amazon for less than £3 – you know those books that cost a penny but the p&p is £2.76 or some such.

I also love AdoremusBooks where I think the prices are reasonable even with shipping and I get the parcel usually about 10 days after ordering which is pretty fast. Faster than some books I’ve ordered from UK shops.

Anyway I have received three new books in the last couple of days. A Story of Beethoven is a lovely book simply written and illustrated with black and white drawings. It’s just right for Ronan and Avila enjoys listening to it. As he was a pupil of Haydn it has gone well with this months Classics for Kids programs. Nature in a Nutshell for Kids is set out Spring to Winter with very straightforward little experiments to do for each season.

This is just right for a Charlotte Mason approach to the world. I am awaiting another book to go with it so we can get back to our walks out; which fell by the wayside a bit over the winter.

I think if you click on the pictures you will get a big view. I like to see at least a page or so inside a book before I buy it to be sure it is suitable. I wish more publishers did that look inside thing offered on Amazon or Google books.

The final book that has gone down a storm with Ronan and Avila is the oddly mistitled  Inside Your Outside which surely should be Inside Your Insides but it isn’t. It is written by Tish Rabe and illustrated by Aristides Ruiz -not by Dr Suess but it’s a great Suess-like book which Ronan can easily read for himself and will sit and read to Avila and Heleyna. There’s enough information in the poem to give the children a very good grasp of the basics of human biology. There are a number of books in the series for the Cat in the Hat Learning Library, but I think some look better than others. The authors vary and therefore I think the quality of the books seems to as well. Check things out.

Meanwhile Iona has got into her Complete Works of Oscar Wilde she got for her birthday and is working her way through Dorothy Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey books. Her Open Uni course starts properly next week though she is working away at the course materials already.

Leave a Reply

