Making Volcanoes and other such home education things

Yesterday we had a lot of fun in our geography session. I had printed up a map of the active volcanoes of Iceland and had to draw in the one causing all the trouble at the moment as it is considered a nice quiet one.

The children found Iceland on the atlas map and then we looked at the line of volcanoes on the map of Iceland I’d printed.

They remembered a whole lot of stuff from way before Easter about the core, mantle and crust of the earth and tectonic plates and fault lines. I was impressed. So, they DO learn and remember!

Then it was time to make our own volcanoes. It’s easy to do.

You need some smallish jars and lots of clay or play doh. The children stick the clay/play doh to the jars to make a volcano like shape.

Then you need some hotish water and a few drops of food colouring; we used red as that’s a good lava colour-but I don’t see why you couldn’t just make it up.

In went a couple of generous teaspoons of bicarb and a splash of vinegar and up bubbled our line of volcanoes. More bicarb and vinegar and a bit of lemon juice kept it going for quite a while.

We ended up with the back yard swimming in red liquid which Iona thought looked well dodgy. But no, neighbours, we haven’t murdered the man from the LA.

@–l—-

In the morning we did the usual lessons and I thought I would mention how flexible the More Starfall sheets can be. I just wrote Latin words into the make a worksheet thingy and Avila had some Latin to practice with her letter formation practice.

Pretty good.

3 responses to “Making Volcanoes and other such home education things

  1. I enjoy your home ed posts. You’re doing alot more than me .
    At the moment I’m keeping my head above water . Just a bit of handwriting and maths and the odd saint of the day readaloud.
    Otherwise it’s listening to story tapes in the car. Oh, and I am of course cunningly includung cooking and baking as home ed work.
    You have reminded me that we can at least go and look up Iceland on the map though.
    Otherwise it’s brio train tracks and lego and a bit of a run around the garden.

    On a totally unrelated note, I love your daughters name. A beautiful, and somewhat unconventional way of giving her a saints name.

  2. Clare, listening to stories IS doing something and cooking is doing LOTS of learning.
    Lego is the most educational stuff on the planet.

    So your children are doing maths (with measuring and weighing in cooking), reading, (those recipes), saints-with is history and geography because they had to live sometimes and come from some place and then there’s Lego to learn sharing, building design and structure-engineering. Story making with Lego and Brio and language development there too.

    I could go on; looks like you are doing LOADS. 🙂

    I am glad you like Avila’s name We called her Avila Terese 🙂

  3. You’re right, thank you for the reminder.
    When I first looked at the photo before reading the blog I thought the children were looking at a couple of dropped ice cream cornets.
    I just love photos of home ed groups. They are so…’motley’!
    Is that your 3 year old in the bare legs and wellies? There is, to me, something particularly darling about that little detail.

Leave a Reply

