Sunrise, Sunset: Josh was in Fiddler on the Roof.

Went to see Josh in Fiddler on the Roof last week. I do love that musical. I don’t think there’s a single dud song in it. Josh played a villager, a soldier and a naughty soldier called Sacha. He had great fun as always and commented today about what a lovely team the BMTC are. He knows he is highly unlikely to ever get a main part because he can’t sing for toffee. But he loves the production and has learned a lot about what it takes to put a really good show on in a theatre. The older children went the following night with some friends. We have the film, with Topol as Tevye and I was thinking as we watched the show that it might be a good tool to springboard some history for the children later on. The huge question on the place of “tradition” is not really answered in the show-a mere musical couldn’t-but it is a good question. The traditions that seem to have to bend are the ones that are cultural, whereas the religious Traditions remain. I always loved Tevye’s relationship with God. It’s a bit like mine (ahem).

There are Study Guides online and this one so I am not the only one who thinks this could make a good springboard for a history lesson or two.

I love the tradition of marrying under a canopy. I believe in the Eastern Rite this tradition inherited from Judaism still stands.

My favourite song is the Sabbath Prayer, but there are other good songs

2 responses to “Sunrise, Sunset: Josh was in Fiddler on the Roof.

  1. I love it, too! I agree, no dud songs. I’ll always be partial to “If I Were a Rich Man” and “Matchmaker” (when my girls were small, they saw the film version and ran around singing these songs.)

    Looking forward to hearing how your study goes!

  2. I was in Fiddler on the roof when I was in year 11. I loved being a part of it and played one of the Mothers.

    My favourite song would have to be Tradition. I have such wonderful memories of twirling on the stage to this song.

Leave a Reply

