Yesterday – home education happened anyway.

Yesterday as I had a hospital appointment mid morning I didn’t bother with the usual lessons. I heard Roni and Avila read and then it was off to the hospital. That went well. Got a pass on my kidney’s and heart. The hypertension has dropped from stage 2 to borderline but this could be because I am on meds and out of flare so I’m to stop some of the meds and go back for further tests in 2 months. Got the next appointment through this morning!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the things I still find surprising about the way HE works in our family is the way the children get on with learning even when I am not organising it. They have formed the habit of learning, and anyway, they enjoy it. So, although the usual lessons were shelved, they got books and read to one another and then Ronan got Josh’s old Open Uni molecule making set and starting working out what chemicals might do what. This culminated in us looking up what air is made of and he made air. We had to make a couple of molecules out of paper, but it worked fine.  He really loves the idea of making molecule modules. I’ll have to invest in some other sets for him later I think.

Meanwhile it was their dad’s birthday, so after doing some of her Open Uni work that must be handed in soon, Iona made a birthday cake.

We had some reading time together, where I read to them and then they played before their dad got home from work for his birthday tea.

A good day.

H/T BWYA for telling me how to make a slideshow 🙂

8 responses to “Yesterday – home education happened anyway.

  1. I love how it keeps working!

    Belated birthday wishes to your husband!

    The slideshows are fun, aren’t they?

  2. One of the things I still find surprising about the way HE works in our family is the way the children get on with learning even when I am not organising it. They have formed the habit of learning, and anyway, they enjoy it. So, although the usual lessons were shelved, they got books and read to one another and then

    you have just shown by those remarks why home education works when you have a loving family! your writing about home education is so good you put it so well I wish more people could see your thoughts you win over more people.I shown my mum your thoughts my mum is anti home education but you really did make her think! thanks!

  3. Yup, I’ll second that. Best advert for Home Education I have ever read.

  4. Yes, you’re good, Mum6kids.
    Glad to hear that you’re healthier and that the learning went well. Hope the birthday stuff was fun too!

Leave a Reply

