It’s funny ‘cuz it’s true…

I was on the Fibro forum t’other day when someone mentioned the book Diana’s Story by Deric Longdon. I had this book recommended to me some years ago when this whole fibro thing first started up and the doctors were less than useless and so often rude and cruel. It was made into a TV film called “Wide Eyed and Legless” in the UK but changed to “The Wedding Gift” (for some reason) for the American market.

Here’s part 1. (Youtube carries the whole thing in 9 parts.)

Part 1 here is so much what happened to me it’s uncanny. I really think films like this should be compulsory viewing for medics in training (and revision for those who are already in bad habits).

Diana probably had ME/CSF which even today along with fibromyalgia gets little understanding or care from most medics. I do recommend the film, but have a hanky on hand. It’s funny and sad. It’s funny because it’s true.

I don’t think I’ve got the guts to read the book as well.

4 responses to “It’s funny ‘cuz it’s true…

  1. *hugs* In the early stages of my mental illness, a GP told me that I” just need[ed] to grow up”. That was a one-off bad experience which really, really hurt. I know so many people with fibro have to put up with doctors being like that for months or years. I don’t know how you cope with it.

    Very angry on your behalf.

    • I worked in psychi in the NHS as a nurse for over 16 years. I saw and heard doctors (and lawyers for sectioned patients) say the most dumb and nasty things.
      At the inquest for my friend who died last year the psychiatrists were unbelievably useless. Even the Coroner got cross.
      I hope you have better care and treatment these days. Mental health problems come under “It doesn’t show up on a nice fancy machine so we don’t like it” IMHO – much like Fibro, ME/CSF.

  2. Okay… not sure if I have the guts to read OR watch this… my experience with docs throughout my life has been very negative… so much so that I avoid going if there’s any way I can get out of it. I don’t know if I can watch a similar story without falling completely part. I’d probably require an entire box of tissues – if not two! šŸ™‚

    • Nonna, it is tough viewing and a little frightening for those of us in such a similar predicament. My dh can’t bring himself to watch it either.
      At least nowadays we have ways of making sure we know what we are dealing with, even if medics are still as bad as ever.
      And just occasionally one pops up who is excellent and has a true vocation.

Leave a Reply

