Don’t look at me, look at Him!

I have some favourite images of Our lady; Our Lady of Guadalupe is my very favourite, her head bowed in prayer and the symbol of her pregnancy under her joined hands. I also like Our Lady of Kibeho with her bowed head and gentle appearance. But all (authentic) images of Mary and all authentic apparitions of Mary have one thing in common. She says, as she said in John’s Gospel, “Do whatever He tells you.” If she appears or is represented with the Christ Child or is shown standing at the foot of the cross, she always has the same attitude; “Don’t look at me, look at Him!” She points, her gaze to her Son.

One of the things I’ve always found a bit toe curling about so many tele-evangelists is they seem to say “look at me, listen to MY ideas,” rather than “look at Him and hear what He has to say.”

When John appears in the Wilderness calling people to repentance, he denies he is anything important, just the one making the entrance announcement “Behold the Lamb of God…” and he points his followers to Christ. “Go follow Him and listen to Him.”

He has no kinsman rivalry or fear of loosing the lime-light.

The same can be said for many priests. They are not the “look at me doing a show” kind, but instead their gaze is on Him as they say “Ecce Agnus Dei” or “Behold the Lamb of God,” pointing away from themselves to Him, just as all who understand Who is the priority in life.

Of course, I’m a slow learner and all this only came to me today. Still, better late than never eh?

Leave a Reply

