Saint Bede the Venerable

It’s the feast of St. Bede today. I am rather fond of St. Bede and I recommend a visit to Bede’s World should you ever be in that neck ‘the woods.

It has been put about that the Church did not allow venacular translations of Scripture. This is, of course, ridiculous. Sadly this black legend is so entrenched that many people fail to realise that the first translation of parts of Scripture into English was done by St. Bede. He did not live long enough to get it all finished but I beleive quite a few pages of his work on the Psalms still exist. (not sure, but I remember reading something on that somewhere.)

St. Bede ora pro nobis.

Please may I also ask your prayers for Rita whose husband’s funeral is today.

One response to “Saint Bede the Venerable

  1. The more lies I hear about the catholic church, the more certain I am that it is the one founded by Jesus.

Leave a Reply

