A Catholic Mother’s Kindle: Where are all those books coming from?

What a girl needs now and then, is a quiet five minutes to sit down with a good book and a cup of tea.

Having said that, a certain daughter of mine has declared that there is nothing quite so sad a a cup of tea without a buscuit to dunk in it. Perhaps this is so, but it is not something I find all that tragic (most of the time).

So then, where do I get books for my kindle?

There are plenty of places for free books: Internet Archive has loads of them. Some are better formatted for Kindle than others. I have had problems reading some books that have footnotes, but not so badly that I’ve needed to give up. (I can be quite determined when I put my mind to it).

Project Gutenberg is a gold mine and so far the books I’ve downlaoded from there are fairly well formatted, so I tend to check them out there first and then got to IA if they don’t have them.

There is also the Australian Gutenbergย and Gutenberg Canada. So far as I can see these sites don’t offer Kindle ready books, but they are easy enough to convert with the info I gave in a previous post on how to make books Kindle readable.

If you are up to a few convertions there are some great Don Camillo books. If you have never read Don Camillo you have missed a classic. Grab your chance now.

Many Books is another place to find all sorts of wonderful books Including the first two Lord Peter Wimsey tales by the great Dorothy L Saysers.

Then there’s Free Kindle Books which I haven’t really had a chance to look at properly yet.

Got a bit of money? Ignatius Press have many books for your delectation. Sophia Press have a list too, which tends to be linked to Amazon.com but some of the books are carried on Amazon UK.

Also Heritage History have made most of their books Kindle ready for only a couple of dollars each and St Joan of Arc for free.

One of the books I’ve read recently from Project Gutenbery is about the Starvation Diet for Diabetes. Second Edition 1916. This was before insulin was avialable, and going by the case studies in the book it was before there was an understanding of the differences between type 1 and type 2 diabetes.

In fact the differnce between types 1 and 2 were not recorded until 1935. Insulin had been given as injection since 1922/23.

The starvation diet was harsh at first but more food was added over time.

The first three days of starvation the patient was to receive only black coffee with a little whiskey in it. The same system was used with children. I noticed that the young patients either adults under 25 or children did not fare so well on this diet and in the case of children were more likely to die.

Although the medic who has written the book is cheerfully optimistic that this diet works well, it plainly did not save many lives of juvinile diabetics. Truly we can see in this little book – that insulin was needed.

Insulin has come on a long way. Josh is pretty stable on his two types of insulin in a way that I remember patients I nursed, had no hope of.

It’s a short book, quick read but fascinating.

2 responses to “A Catholic Mother’s Kindle: Where are all those books coming from?

  1. Steve P in Detroit, Mich.

    Being a Kindle newbie myself, your last couple of postings have been very helpful. Thanks!

  2. Okay – now that I can get so many books – where do I get the time to sit down and read them? ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually, I cheat, I steal time from my sleeping hours… just don’t tell my doc. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL!

Leave a Reply

