Ending term for Summer.

We’re winding down the formal lessons over the next  two weeks for the Summer. We’ve all worked very hard and amazingly as I make the next plans we are not behind on anything at the moment!

We’ve done a few experiments with milk and cream making cheese and butter, both of which turned out really well. Iona nicked all the butter to make flapjacks. I have to say that making butter is not a “frugal” thing to do as you need double cream, but it was well worth it for the children’s learning. We plan to make more and flavour them. And more cheese.

I’m winding down this week and then next week will be more informal lessons and book time. I have plans to spend August sorting out Ronan’s lessons to be more independent (the freebies HERE ARE USEFUL).

After the astonishing moment last week when Heleyna, using the wooden movable letters suddenly wrote her full name out without guide lines, I am thinking she might learn better with a more Montessori approach. With careful shopping and perhaps some compromising on materials (using plastic instread of wood or glass and laminated sheets instead of the fancy wooden gramma kits) I think I can give her a good start.

Iona has just has her results from the Open Uni and has passed her module on Forensic Science with some high grades in there. So we will sign her up for the next module for the new term. I think she wants to do the one on cancer and then she will turn 18 and be able to do bigger courses. She is also hoping to get a job – although around here at the moment that is like panning for gold.

If she was going to school Heleyna would be starting in September even though she is only 4. Thankfully she isn’t and can develop properly as her age and tendancies allow.

I am still a bit surprised at how differently all four of the “school age” children learn. Iona has worked hard to overcome her dyslexia and is now working at degree level and doing well. She ditched the special needs approach that school had used and simply went with reading and reading and making sure what she was reading would stretch her memory and comprehension. Gradually – and it was gradual – she overcame a lot of problems about how she saw words and how she wrote them. She expanded her vocabularly and has handled the OU well as a result.

I think the major advantage of home education is that the children have time and space to READ. They read books from beginning to end. We don’t need any of the appalling school system wherein children read a small snippet from a book and then make up the rest from Cliff Notes or some other shortened Exam-hopp-system set up. Iona’s friends actually envy her that she can read books- whole books.

Lots of living books to get through over the Summer and I’ll let y;all know what I have on my Kindle as well.

5 responses to “Ending term for Summer.

  1. Shell,
    I dropped my Facebook account because I just couldn’t seem to balance my time, *cringing with embarrassment* and I only have so much of it! 🙂 I’m already missing being in direct contact with everyone, but I still have the blogging-world. 🙂 I wanted to drop by and let you know about a free e-book Simply Charlotte Mason http://simplycharlottemason.com/books/a-thinking-love/ has made available. I haven’t read it yet, but I don’t know how long it will be there, and I didn’t want you to miss out — it sounds like something you’d enjoy as much as I would!!

    • Thanks for that! I more or less finished today so I hope to have more reading time over the summer.
      Hope you get all those tests and some good solid answers soon
      God bless

  2. http://www.chcweb.com/catalog/category8_277/EBOOKMontessorionaShoestring/product_info.html

    One of our home schooling Moms wrote this – you’d really get a LOT out of it – how to make Montessori manipulatives with things laying around the house, recycled things, inexpensive items – Jody has all kinds of great ideas!

    I think you’d really enjoy using this book, Shel!

Leave a Reply

