Children as blessings and how not to starve the elderly to death.

One morning at Mass I admitted to a friend that I was pregnant with what would prove to be my sixth child. She gave me a hug and at that moment another friend came over and we both told her. She put her arms around me and said, “Well, if you are good at something, you may as well keep doing it.” I think that was the loveliest thing anyone has said to me about the fact we have dared to go beyond the culturally acceptable number of children of 1.4.

The fact is we have had children in the teeth of the massive propaganda campaign against the lives of children. We are told they are eating up the planet’s meagre resources which should be preserved for the Al Gore’s of this planet. We are told that disabled children must be killed before they get the chance to be born. The Malthus myth is alive and well and heavily pushed by the media and it’s darlings.

Then there are the frequent children cost far too much so don’t have too many articles. They are often based on the assumption that there will be a huge chunk of a family’s income spent on “child care”.  This in turn must be a reflection of the isolation of so many families, so that there is no one but a paid stranger to help with the children. Families are broken up and scattered and each person looks after themselves.

When talking to a fellow Home ed mum last night, she told me how surprised she had been at Think Tank to see so many large families. Some mothers, she told me, had even more children than me! lol. She is expecting her fourth and I know this hasn’t been joyful news to some.

I told her that one of the joys of HE for me had been that with six children I was just one of the crowd. Home educators over all do seem to have more children, or if they only have one or two they soon end up borrowing some more from somewhere, either as helping a family or fostering. My friend wondered if we home ed partly because we just like our children.

My friend discussed her sadness of so many mums complaining to her about having to be with their children through the six weeks Summer holidays. One mother I met said quite clearly in front of her child that she didn’t think it was right for schools to expect families to cope over six weeks!!

Bare these astonishing attitudes by adults in mind when I tell you the next demographic doomalist projection is we will have too many old people – which they are calling the grey tsunami.

As the answer to “too many children” has been contraception and abortion and a call for infanticide (Singer’s view which is increasingly mainstream) what will be the remedy for “too many old people”?

It’s not a leap to see that many elderly will fall under the increasing calls of “obligation to die”, prettily wrapped in a right to die rhetoric at the moment and the misuse of the words dignity and mercy.

This may seem to have little to do with home education per sey but the near the surface of every call to ban home education throughout the world, to stamp out the inherent rights of parents and children to the freedom and obligation of education is based primarily on hatred of Christian doctrines on life. I don’t think I have heard or read a single arguement against home education that doesn’t warn against “fundamentalist Christians” keeping their children away from the secular (a)moral doctrine. Even here in the UK, where as far as I can tell there is a sizable non-Christian non-deist group, the “fundamentalist” label gets bandied about.

Recently I have heard that more protestant communities are turning away from contraception and abortion, having seen the devestating effect it has had on their communities. They are beginning to see that following Scripture means being completely pro-life in marriage as well as “politics”. I would be interested to know if many of these families and pastors putting aside contraception and letting God back into their marriage are or will home educate. Especially in America where many school options are very expensive, more children will probably lead to more homeschooling.

Turning away from the culture of death means embracing the culture of life, which logically, it seems to me, means welcoming, not just whatever children God sends, but whatever elderly or disabled relatives He might send as well.

When families take back and embrace the culture of life, we can avoid the pit that yawns in front of us from the utilitarian secularists (pushed by the BBC of course) and no one needs to be killedd.

4 responses to “Children as blessings and how not to starve the elderly to death.

  1. I just had the “fundamentalist religious EHE” conversation with my friends here in British Columbia where I am staying. My friends say that in Canada this one is rolled out ad nauseum too to bash EHE. Kelly did a blog post on it last year http://kellygreenandgold.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/fundamentalism-and-home-education/ showing that the home ed population is merely a reflection of the population at large as far as we can tell.

  2. I loved reading this post Shell. I have said to Steve many times that I hope because we have been open to life in our marriage that our children will not feel tempted to euthanaze us if that is what becomes the norm in our society.

    We have a particularly scary euthanasia bill before SA parliament at the moment that threatens Tom and Christopher since they have type one diabetes. The bill allows doctors to euthanase patients with both terminal and chronic illnesses. I really hope it doesn’t pass. If you could please pray because we just don’t know what way it is going to go.

  3. Hi Alison, yes I remember Kelly’s post on this – and it is something that tends towards the ad nauseum. I assume it’s because there isn’t a real problem with HE.

    Therese, I will pray. It is worrying the way those who have chronic conditions are increasingly seen as a drain on resources. Over here there has been a media push to remove novo-rapid and the other modern insulins and put peole back on the old ones which are cheaper and they insist work as well. I have to say my experience of nursing people with t1d back in “old” days things were pretty awful- and life expentancy wasn’t so good.

    We have a lot of prayer and work to defeat the culture of death. It is growing fatter and grosser by the day.

  4. All this while, I thought of homeschooling as an option for concerned parents but I never realised that it was also about the way of life (pro life) that homeschooling parents were fighting for. Your post sort of gave me a shock, because if I were in your shoes, it would be imperative for me to homeschool too! There is no way I’d want my child to be taught anti-Christian values. But then I live in an Islamic country where abortion and homosexuality are invitations to jail cells and trials in court and senior citizens are still revered & looked up to. I do see some erosion in the moral values but at least nobody is actively telling kids that God isn’t real and that abortion is fine. But I know that it doesn’t take much for my country to go the way of yours… the world needs prayers…

    I’m not saying I’m having a great time as a Christian mother either… but I have different challenges. May God guide your family and mine… these are trying times indeed. By the way, your blog is very helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

