Not every Home Education day (week, month…) is a good one.

Let’s face it, sometimes being a home educating mum feels like pounding at a hard nut and not cracking it.

I confess that the last couple of weeks have been truly hard and I reached the end of my tether yesterday and decided I had no choice but to send Ronan to school and concentrate on the girls. Part of this may be having the flu (or something like it) and trying to keep on top of everything while being yukky, hot and cold and generally erchgh. (If that isn’t a word, it is now. Neologisms r us).

I had planned, with planning sheets and everything, that Ronan would be a bit more inependant in his learning this year. This was mainly based on trying to fit more and more work with Heleyna into the day, and I must admit, I wanted more time for me. Ahem. I didn’t really consider too closely whether it would work or not. Lesson learned!

At the end of a difficult week, a couple of my children are on probation. If next week begins in the same way, they are grounded. So, I dismissed them for the day and they went off to bake and peel acorns ready for leaching the tannin. I put the radio on and set about clearing up and checking the workbooks, wondering what on earth I was going to do, to keep the HE boat afloat.

I was listening to Dr. Ray Guarendi,(Sept 27th or 28th) and suddenly a mother phoned in who was thinking of sending her recalcitrant ten-year old to school because she just wasn’t getting anywhere with him. Dr. Ray gave her some ideas and even gave a rendition of how her day had been. It was MY DAY (well fortnight) as well!! She laughed and I had to too. After giving some final thoughts, including the very good one that leaving the lad to get on with it, and if his day dreaming and groaning means he has to work through tea time and loose free time then so be it. He finished with the words, “Don’t let a ten year old decide for you whether you can homeschool or not.”

So, I am ready – and less fluey which helps a lot – and on Monday, the work will be laid out and I will not bother about how long it takes. I will stop what is happening for joint work, and then outstanding work must be done.

There’s acorn flour to make too. We didn’t get as much tannin out as I expected, which makes me suspicious there’s still an awful lot in there. So more leaching is ahead. Then we’ll make a little soda bread bun or something similar – not to eat too much of it. English oak is not as safe as American oak apparently. But in times of famine it has served English people well.

It wont hurt the children to understand how bad things can be when there’s no food to eat. They have done without some stuff, when we’ve been skint – but have never starved or done without a meal.

Or is cooking acorns really hippy????

UPDATE- I’m going to have a go with Kalei’s little “organise your learning” set.

2 responses to “Not every Home Education day (week, month…) is a good one.

  1. I’m glad you have Dr Ray to encourage you! I know it gets frustrating sometimes when children start misbehaving or doing everything but their work. I’m sure you’ll find a way with Ronan — St John Bosco is a good ‘un to ask for intercession!

    We’ve had our ups and downs. And I don’t regret the downs. Just needed more prayer to get through ’em! Kids in schools have even more ‘downs’ than the home schoolers and in the end don’t always get the education they are sent there to obtain anyway. Good luck with the acorn ‘bread’. At least it isn’t true pemmican. Bear grease & dried and powdered venison (or other meat) and dried and powdered berries rolled up into cakes. Yum Yum. Native peoples in the North East here made it for winter stores as it had the oil, protein and carbohydrates/sugar in one little greasy ball. Surprising what people will eat when they have to survive!

  2. Ah yes St John Bosco – he’s Al’s Confirmation saint, so he is one of our family saints. And you are right about school creating more problems than it could solve.
    I know really that it’s me that has to change tack – I’m the mum, he’s just an 8yr old.
    Oh yummy pemmican, now there’s a recipe you never see a TV chef attempting!

Leave a Reply

