Do our children really need a University degree?

When my son Alex decided he would not go to university there were some raised eyebrows. Some people thought this was simply a ridiculous notion and that all “good” children go to Uni.

Having taught in a University, I remember thinking as I walked those hallowed halls, “God forbid any child of mine ends up here!” If parents knew what went on in these places (mostly at parental expense) they would, or at least should, be appalled.

Then there’s the cost. This blog entry sums up very nicely just why I want my children to be very cautious about Higher Education. It is indeed a matter of justice. It is grossly unjust that jobs with no possible connection, or a very mild connection to academic learning are asking for graduates.

Now that degrees have been made very expensive but actually not very useful. But just as most families are brainwashed into thinking all children must go to school to get an education – and this in the face of the astonishingly poor standards of education they get; they are equally brainwashed into the idea that all children need a degree.

But do they?

3 responses to “Do our children really need a University degree?

  1. This is a topic that has been bugging me for the past couple of weeks and I agree with you. “degrees have been made very expensive but actually not very useful” couldn’t be more true; I recently graduated university and just look at my degree thinking, really?? Now, I loved university and have plans to one day attend grad school but I have always loved school. However, I don’t believe college is for everyone, nor should you have to go to it to get a job.

  2. I have often wondered about this.

    I really think that it all depends on what God is calling any particular person too. I remember thinking when I was pregnant with our 5th child, that I was glad I had never finished a uni degree. I really didn’t have to give anything up to be a stay at home mum because of it.

    I had gone to uni but I did an associate diploma in community studies which was pretty useless since they introduced a degree in community studies while I was studying it. I think most of the people I was at uni with went and did the extra units to have a degree.

  3. Good post,

    Doctors, lawyers, teachers, architects, civil service, police and nursing all probably need a degree now. Research and enginnering can still be entered with apprenticeships, though it is a longer route.

    I share your concerns about the quality of degrees and I find university towns depressing places to visit and students, over anxious success-obsessed robots and emotional disaster areas.

    I also have this feeling that the debt incurred whilst a student may hamper many aiming for religious vocations, by turning them away from their calling in the pursuit of money to pay off loans.

    It is a sad old world, everyone is working too hard and we are treating our young people like slaves in the pursuit of that “perfect education and perfect job”.

Leave a Reply

