My Lent reading – on Dr. Takashi Nagai, A Song for Nagasaki.

Fr Paul Glynn is the author of A Song For Nagasaki which I am reading for Lent.  I have read that the cause for the canonisation of Dr Takashi Nagai is under way. I hope to see the day he is canonised.

Fr Glynn, I believe, spent a lot of time in Japan and certainly seems to know the language, culture and people well. He writes the story of the Doctor around the long history and the tales of Catholics and persecution there.

This might be made into a short film on the 26 martyrs of Nagasaki. I think one of the men crucified was a teenaged boy.

You can see the films progress and offer some support HERE at ALL THAT REMAINS

6 responses to “My Lent reading – on Dr. Takashi Nagai, A Song for Nagasaki.

  1. http://catholicdaily.net/societyofsaints/tag/st-paul-miki-and-companions/ Two of the martyrs were boys, one twelve, one thirteen.

    They had their noses & ears cut off, yet sang psalms and hymns as they were marched to Nagasaki in winter. Luis, I have read, laughed and joked as if he were heading to a party, rather than his death. In that article that I read (but cannot now find) he asked which cross was his, and ran to it and kissed it.

    http://pweb.sophia.ac.jp/britto/xavier/flynn/flynn01.html And this is an account of another yet-to-be beatified martyr, Yujiro Moriyama. My Lucinda read of the account of his death, and chose him as her Confirmation Saint. Interestingly, the beloved wife of Tagashi Nagai was a descendant from Yugiro’s brother, Jinsaburo, which is why I thought you might like to read Yugiro’s story, too.

  2. And I am sorry – my information was mistaken. Yujiro’s brother was not the relative of the Moriyama in-laws of Takashi Nagai. What I had read previously was incorrect. They were a different family, although they had a similar last name. The Midori Moriyama’s family were catechists who helped preserve Christianity in Japan after the original 26 martyrs died.

    I bought the Song of Nagasaki on Kindle and started reading it, too, now know that I was wrong. It is a WONDERFUL book!

  3. Thanks for the links. Yes it’s a brilliant book Shana. I feel like I;m learning so much about the beauty of Japanese culture – which is good as I’d really only heard about family members worked to death in their camps during the war and other awful stuff. It’s good to remember that how the military behaved is not and was not the way of the people.

  4. I have just read Asong for Nagasaki and as I read it the thought line of the famous folk song When will they ever learn kept coming to me. It would be wonderful if each head of nation read this book. Lord that I may witness the truth.

    • I have to agree. I think the words from the book that haunt me are the observations of the two cities that were bombed. In Hiroshima, they say, there is shouting and anger, and in Nagasaki, there is prayer.
      I am also deeply disturbed by the fact that while great evil was done by Hitler in Germany, by the Militarists of Japan and by Stalin in Russia – that the A bomb came from America with British (and of course Russian) agreement.
      It is a profound mystery to me

Leave a Reply

