Home Education; A Day in the life

A typical Tuesday.

It’s about 7:20am and I am drinking coffee and going the careful stretches that will unlock my body so I can get out of bed and put the weight on my feet.  This varies from, almost immediately to half an hour, but at last I can walk around.

I come downstairs and clean the kitchen, sort out any washing left from the day before and set out the children’s work for the day, including the keyboard.

Morning prayer with rest of coffee.

Sort out breakfast and drinks for Heleyna. The other two usually sort themselves out.

Music lessons begin. One child at a time sits with the keyboard in front of the TV where my very broken laptop is plugged in. It still works for these lessons though. We are using the Adventus Piano software with the monthly subscription.

Start Heleyna’s lessons with her. We usually start with Funnix (which I got free but I think you have to pay now) and then More.Starfall  (subscription) or Starfall (Free). I’ve printed up the workbooks and reading books from the download centre.

The other two finish music lessons and start independant work, which includes Language Arts and Maths (MUS and Life of Fred) Ronan was really pleased with himself for finishing MUS Beta today. He starts Gamma on Thursday. Once I finished the first lessons with Heleyna they can come and ask for help.

I hear Ronan Read and we work on his Religion 3 together and the Ignatius story.

Then back to Heleyna for her Visual Perseptual Skills and Early Literacy .

Avila comes for her Faith and Life lesson Jesus Our Life (She is working above grade on this) She then reads to me.

The shopping arrives and then Ronan spends some time making the adult sized skeleton we are working on.

Then it’s time for Map Work together.

Ronan goes to start putting the lunch together and I have a moment to watch the DVD lesson 13 for Song School Greek, so I can get the words right! (for once!)

The children have lunch and I do some sorting and tidying and make a lovely cuppa. I clean the kitchen and grab some lunch.

Set up for next lessons. The children come and sing some songs in Song School Greek and then it’s out with the teddy counters and inhalers to do a visual history lesson with Our Catholic Legacy. (Today Seretide was Henry II and Qvar was Thomas a Becket. The other inhalers were Lords while the bears were jurers, criminals and  common folk.)

Finally lessons are over and we all get a bit of a break. I start plans for the next day. Then there’s some housework to do.

The girls get themselves ready for ballet, while I ensure we have all we beed in the ballet bag. and then we leave for the lessons. One of the boys gets my powerchair out through the not so wide front door and I’m ready to roll.

Iona cooks on a Tuesday as I take the girls.

We get back and Al returns from work. We eat together as a family – which is very important. Then there’s story time or quiet time or a DVD and then it’s bedtime for the younger three. Daddy says prayers with them and Roni is allowed reading time in bed.

Then it’s time with the biggies and a bit of reading before bed. And that’s a day in the life of us lot.

Leave a Reply

