The Donkey. G K Chesterton

From Divine Office this morning.

The Donkey

When fishes flew and forests walked, And figs fire upon thorn, Some moment when the moon was blood Then surely I was born.

With monstrous head and sickening cry And ears like errant wings, The devil’s walking parody On all four-footed things.

The tattered outlaw of the earth, Of ancient crooked will; starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb, I keep my secret still.

Fools! For I had my hour; One far fierce hour and sweet: There was a shout about my ears And palms before my feet.”

 

Leave a Reply

