Home Education; Government want to “support” us??? I doubt that.

Local Authorities are still breaking the law on Home Education. I personally wouldn’t mind being “monitored” nearly as much if there was any real support for families who home educate and any real care for children in school who are being seriously abused either at school or at home. The fact is, I am not alone in having seen Social Workers, Local Authority staff and even the police betray seriously abused children and children in extremely difficult family situations simply because of being idle, while these same people are all too willing to bully innocent families. I can’t even blame it on lack of training any more. It’s a basic lack of decency and integrity.

So, it would be good to think the present Government might have some kind of committment to cleaning house in Local Authorities, Social Services and the police, especially where children are concerned.

Well they haven’t. Instead they are coming after Home Educators again.

The Education Committee have announced a new inquiry into Home Education looking at what “support” we receive from Local Authorities. The short answer is “NONE AT ALL”.

I would truly like to believe that this “inquiry” really was a way of trying to clean house, but I simply don’t.

It’s  time they just left us alone.

One response to “Home Education; Government want to “support” us??? I doubt that.

  1. I would have to agree Michelle…don’t they already know the answers to the issues being raised? I suspect there is a dark agenda lurking beneath (I so hope I am wrong) such as ‘how dare parents discern what content and values to pass onto to their children’ …. ‘we must direct them’.

    I know this may not be directly linked but I feel that public opinion towards Home Educators remains quite hostile. With the exception of the few, most appear to be quite shocked when I say that I am free to home educate and (currently) enjoy no intervention from any local authority. I have no idea why they think that way.

    J

Leave a Reply

