Seeking Montessori Albums and Great Lessons.

Having read some background into Dr. Montessori’s Method I have started using some of these sites for albums and great lessons.

Good overview list of Montessori Albums free and to buy.

Karen Tyler’s albums get good reviews. Unfortunately I need the Great Lessons and albums aimed at the next level 6 to 9 and 9 to 12.

I do like Moteaco for albums and great lessons.

Cultivating Dharma is great for albums (free ones) and if you check out the site there’s other freebies and good links to help greenhorn Montessori mums like me 🙂

The Great Lessons overview here lead to a link to Miss Barbara’s Great Lesson pages.

There’s a beautiful Great Lesson here, told originally by Mario Montessori, Dr Montessori’s son. It’s called God Who Has No Hands and I love it.

Montessori Materials

Livable Learning has some great free prinables and if you become a member -$50 for a lifetimes access- there’s even more stuff. I haven’t signed up as yet, but I would consider it for her material as they are very good.

I have bought the stuff I have bought from Absorbent Minds in the UK. I haven’t found anywhere cheaper than this Beware of the postage costs and the VAT, but even with these added AM is generally cheaper than elsewhere.

You will have to decide what you can afford to buy and what you can afford to make or substitute.  I am learning that I should try not to substitute too differently as Dr Montessori worked long and hard to make her design choices.  They were not just random as they are designed for all the senses of the child to be used.

I think I am about ready to roll properly now. My ambition is to have the children become independent learners as soon as possible. If I follow the method Dr. Montessori laid out, then theoretically this should happen and the children will have the ability to make their own discoveries and the self-discipline to work together learn, no matter what I’m capable of.

4 responses to “Seeking Montessori Albums and Great Lessons.

  1. You might also want to look at Keys of the Universe – very affordable and lots of hand-holding when needed. AMI albums are geared for ages 6-12.

    • Sarah thank you. I’ve got Keys of the Universe saved in my favs at the moment with a view to buying some. I need some hand holding with this malarky!
      Have you used them and found them good?

      • Yes I do have all of them that are available right now. I am reviewing sections of the math and music for her as she re-does them to make them more clear and homeschool-friendly; both of these two are already available in portions but will be great when they are done!

        More than anything, I really appreciate how responsive she is to the silliest of questions. She doesn’t DO everything for me, but helps me to do it myself. I really like that!

      • That sounds ideal. I will go back and have another look.

Leave a Reply

