The Wedding – getting ready.

P1020096As we are in the last two days before the wedding the activity levels increase. Yesterday I got the rest of the Order of Service printed and Alex stapled them. Then I fell asleep!

Today I’ve got some bits and pieces to do but am under strict instruction to do very little so I can be sure of being there on Saturday. I do not want to miss my son’s wedding and I am trusting that I will be fine on the day.

Ronan has made a lovely gluten free treacle tart and instead of Eton Mess he’s going to make a lemon meringue thing, I just made the lemon curd in the most cheatish way I’ve ever seen.

200g of caster sugar (gran’ll do)

250 mls lemon juice

100g of unsalted butter (I used the butter I made a couple of days ago)

3 eggs. whip the eggs up.

Put it all in a pyrex or other microwave safe bowl. Give a whipping with a fork.

Put it in the microwave and then nuke it for a minute at a time, stirring it with the fork after every minute or so.

It took about 5 to 6 minutes (can’t quite remember) to get it to thicken nicely. Leave it to cool

I’ve never made curd this way before but it has worked reasonably welll and is certainly quicker than the proper way. The proper way produces a much better consistancy though – but the quick version tastes fine.

I’ll pour this into a flan case and then crumble meringues into whipped cream and slap that over the top.

P1020099Ronan’s Gluten Free treacle tart

grease and line a 9″ tin.

roll out shop bought gluten free shortcrust pastry and line the tin.

Into a heavy base saucepan put  8 tablespoons of golden syrup

2 oz of unsalted butter (used my home made)

heat this over a low hob until the butter is melted.

let it cool a little and then add in 2 beaten eggs

4 0z of gluten free breadcrumbs and 4 tablespoons of buttermilk (you can use cream but we have buttermilk from making the butter)

Pour the mixture into the pastry case and cook on Gas Mark 4/350 F for about 20 minutes.

Alex has just arrived with an armful of cheese, which stinks! However, he has left behind the Stinking Bishop which was offered as a substitute for something else (a hard cheese, so why they subbed Stinking Bishop I don’t know.) He’s decided not to have the SB at the reception as it will stink out the entire place!

Things are getting a little stressful for the bride and groom but Iona is all calmness as she completes the wedding cake; only occasionally bursting out “Don’t touch me I’ve made A HUNDRED scones!”

As I’ve only made about 18 I can’t really compete can I? LOL!

5 responses to “The Wedding – getting ready.

  1. lemon curd… stinking bishop…one hundred scones… your house sounds crazy!

  2. Ooh so exciting 🙂 days before the wedding is definitely nerve wracking, I remember I still had huge list to sort and a lovely lady who helped me out 😉 gosh that’s gone so fast. Hope it all goes so well on Saturday. I will be thinking of you all. Is it at your church? Xxxx

  3. Wow, congrats! Praying everything goes smoothly and you are well for the day. Food sounds lovely.

  4. Such an exciting time for your whole family. I will be praying for you all especially on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

