Home Education; planning Easter term and beyond. Hearing them read and dyslexia

I have made some adjustable planning sheets on Publisher. The idea is that each of the children will have a set of lessons they must have completed by the end of each day. There’s no “time slot” as it doesn’t matter to me when they do the work as such, but only that they do it. We have been using these for a while now and they work quite well. It’s a way to get them to be a little more independent in their learning and how they use their time.planning

Meanwhile I am determined NOT to buy any more curriculum for them until July or August. It’s time to make sure we make the most of the stuff we have, utilise some of the freebies and let the budget recover from the last two imports from America.

As you can see we work hard for three days and have two fairly light days. On a Wednesday we meet up with another Home Ed family and do a short history lesson together. Friday’s are mainly language days and catching up on stuff that should have been done.

I do want the school day to finish a little earlier than it has been. We’ve been dragging things out to half two or even three o’clock before the Easter hols. I want to be finished by half one or two so there’s more afternoon time for practical stuff like cooking, science experiments and artsy crafty stuff. As Ronan has just bought himself a new recipe book I want to make sure he has some time to use it.

One of the questions I had as Avila finished reading The Mates of the Kulalong is whether I should still have her read out loud to me. My friend is an English teacher and she believes the biggest mistake teachers make in primary school is to stop hearing the children read once they seem fluent.  I had wondered if I should still hear her read to make sure she is accurate and to expand her reading vocabulary. My friend thinks this is the right approach, as she thinks the reason so many children end up unable to read, if they aren’t helped past the basic fluency stage.

So, I’ll continue to hear her read.

I have been looking at some online advice and resources for helping a child with dyslexia learn to read. Heleyna is struggling a great deal, and she’s working hard. She writes from the right side of the page and reverses all her letters if she is left to write unsupervised.

She has good visual spacial skills which makes her pretty advanced in drawing, but not reading and writing. I suspect she has dyslexia and that it’s the same sort of dyslexia that her older brother Alex has. (there are different kinds and levels of dyslexia)

It’s a tough one to overcome but as she is now the third of my six to obviously have some form of dyslexia I already have some ideas. I’ll be using coloured papers to print word worksheets on. She already shows signs of being able to read words on a blue or darker background better than black on white.  This was true for Alex  as well I remember. I also need to get her eyes tested, just to be on the safe side, though I think her inability to see letter shapes is more to do with a perceptual problem than a sight problem.

I am keeping to a very phonics based approach for now with only a few sight words. English is a silly language in written form with way too many words spelt in the most bizarre way.  I am wondering if she will find learning Koine Greek a little easier as it is more phonetically based. We’ll see.

I’m sticking with More.Starfall and Reading Eggs for her at the moment. We are not using the older Oxford Reading Tree books just for now as there’s a little too much whole word for her at that moment. Have picked out some of the Oxford Owl books for her to try.

2 responses to “Home Education; planning Easter term and beyond. Hearing them read and dyslexia

  1. I am not really sure how old Avila is but we have our older children read out loud to younger children once they are fairly fluent. Amelia (age 11) reads every night to Christopher and Joseph. I suspect Christopher has dyslexia too. I have found reading eggs to be a great program with helping him. He seems to retain things better from that program than any others. His teachers at school have also found this.

    • Avila is 8. Even though both she and Ronan, in fact Avila more so, read to each other and visiting children it had never occured to me that this was reading aloud; I am a bit dense sometimes!
      I think I’ll quietly encourage more of this- with reading passages out loud from harder books to stretch them.
      Having the older ones read to Heleyna will encourage her too I think. She really wants to read; it’s such a shame she finds it so difficult.

Leave a Reply

