Back to the steroids, or not?

I was given a script for Prednisolone to keep by for those sudden onset emergencies. The idea was to help prevent my rather inconvenient (to me, the kids and the doc) sudden requirement to turn up at the GP for the nebuliser and   the inevitable script for yet more Prednisolone. The heat hasn’t helped my breathing. My lungs are having a hissy fit and while my dear ol heart and BP seem fairly stable (whoo-hoo) (for now – I am nothing if not a realist) my lungs are squeaking wheezing and waking me up at night demanding air. They are showing signs (again) of being too idle to bother to breathe unless I’m awake to help them. Honestly, you can’t get the organs these days!

The Big Pillow is back on the bed. This works a bit like calling in dad – the Big Gun- when teenage boys got a bit too big for their already over-sized boots and dad needs a word. So the Big Pillow keeps me more-or-less upright at night so I can breathe and then if I slip my lungs are quick enough to wake me up demanding better posture and more air.

Originally the pillow was a breastfeeding and baby nest thing so it’s big, and firmish. I recommend them for you fellow lung-lubbers.

Now, I hate taking steroids and up until recently I have also loved the little things. You see, while I am acutely aware of the nasty side effects and the long term nasties in particular thanks to a looooong history of taking steroids orally, intramuscular and IV I also am aware that they work like a minor miracle; not just on my breathing but on pain and that bone grinding feeling that goes with it.

As most of the side effects are part of my “normal” illness anyway I haven’t noticed much other than the weight gain and the moon face. I can spot a fellow steroidy by that face.

So, back to the question at hand. I have the Pred in my drug box. I am struggling to breathe and I have two reasons to take them. First – it might help avoid a doctors appt or an emergency doc appt. and second, we’re off on holidays soon and I don’t want to spend the hols doing a magical mystery tour of Scotland’s NHS provision. It won’t be good for the family.

My dh says everyone will take it in their stride if I need to sample the NHS up north. And I’m sure he’s right. But we are off with 5 of the children and a girlfriend. I would rather steer clear of stethoscopes and hissing masks.

Is that a good reason to take the Prednisolone? Because I’m a bit (ok, quite a bit) worried about wrecking the hols for everyone?

Who knew that taking drugs could be a moral or ethical question?

Having written all that my lungs have made the decision for me – back on the Pred.

On a side note, the Respiratory Doc has spotted that some of my breathing problems are not just asthma. He is a bit concerned that I’ve been on almost daily high doses of steroids for months and months and wants to separate out the asthma – that needs steroids and the other stuff that might need something else.

While there’s definitely the Lump in my throat around my voice box thing at the moment I am pretty sure it’s asthma.

One response to “Back to the steroids, or not?

  1. I know the lungs answered the pondering for you but I would have agreed with the lungs.
    As a fellow chronic illness sufferer, I would have taken the meds for a peaceful and (hopefully) Dr-free holiday too.

    My Godmother Ali has serious lung problems and uses a BiPAP (sorry if not correctly initialed!) at night as without it her lungs would not open wide enough and she would be starved of oxygen and then die…
    Perhaps you’re heading for one of these little numbers?
    They may make breathing at night slightly more bearable?

    Have an amazing holiday breathing in all that fresh air!

    God Bless,
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

