Hospital Appt; interesting discussion on research and treatment.

There are times when having your nose into a fine piece of well controlled research can raise your hopes that answers are really out there. Reading something “famous” from the Lancet can soon remind us that much that gets published is so badly done, it beggars belief.

I’ve been reading and listening to lectures on the HPA axis for some time. It’s all very fascinating and the findings of people with dysautonomia and Fibromyalgia having problems with dopamine production, uptake and re-uptake all looks promising. But promising and having the promise fulfilled are two different things.

I saw the Prof today – a rare Cardiologist who can both dx and treat some of the heart related aspects of dysautonomia. The first very good thing I’ll say about him is he reads up what’s been happening so he knew what things were like before I went into the room. He knew I was on even more steroids and antibiotics (2 infections this time – lovely). He knew about the Respiratory Consultant and the tests I’ve just had. So, lots of time saved without me – in slurry, blurry mode having to try and explain things.

He looked at my BP/HR/Pulse pressure chart. I’m on the highest dose of Candasarten and Ivabradine already. But thanks to the complications that come with this, my HR is still over 100 a lot of the time and spiking up to 150 now and then. Not terrible and not as bad as it was, but still not right. So he’s decided to up the Ivabradine to 10mg BD. This is going well above the max and so we had a long wait in Pharmacy while they questioned him over it. I don’t think that’s a bad thing; having double checks especially for situations like this is a good safety measure.

We talked about the tests for dopamine because my tremor is really bad. But he agreed there was no treatment, and so the tests weren’t going to help me whatever they showed. I can live with this. If I know there’s no help for something, I can get my head around it and put up with it. The hyperadrenergic side of things is being indirectly treated anyway. He doesn’t mind that I read the research- which I appreciate.

I asked him about my weight as well. I eat twice a day (breakfast and dinner or lunch and dinner) and still my weight is creeping up. I’m also getting worse edema in my hands, feet, ankles and back of my legs. On bad days my knees swell up as well. He thinks a lot of the problem is the massive amount of steroids I’m having to take and until we can get around that, I’m in trouble.

So, I haven’t exactly come away with good news, but I do feel that I know where I stand with this shambles of a disease. I refused hospital admission last week because I knew there was nothing they could do extra in the hospital right now. My poor GP…but he agreed with me in the end.

The bottom line is this; I know what this disease is doing to me and I know that I have three good docs; my GP, Cardio and Respiratory docs and they are doing what can be done. After that I have to accept this. Sometimes it is overwhelming and I get a bit fed up – but having a doctor who accepts how bad it is and doesn’t try and play silly games can make all the difference.

It was lovely that Alex could take me as well. We could do some catching up. He’s a very happily married man 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

