I’m Sorry To Tell You…

…but this is not Michelle writing but her daughter Iona.

Unfortunately my mum passed away on Tuesday night. As most of you know, she had experienced a long eleven year struggle with a complex illness that even I could not start to explain, and I feel she was ready to go home. She never made it to the hospital, but died at home attended by paramedics who did a wonderful, sensitive job. The cause of death is known, but as yet has not been properly explained to us by her GP, so I cannot give you any real information on that.

The family has come together and the children are coping as  well as they can, we hope you will have us in your prayers for the coming days and months, and as mum once wrote ‘if you don’t have a God, borrow one’.

I know that she appreciated the love and support she found from her internet friends and so we all thank you for any advice, kind comments and the faithful readership you offered her in her life.

Love,

Iona

x

20 responses to “I’m Sorry To Tell You…

  1. Michelle was such a wonderful human being. One of a kind!! She will always be remembered by us. We are of course thinking of you all at this incredibly difficult and so unexpected time. Some people are taken away from us far too soon. Rest in peace Michelle. xxxx

  2. I’m so sorry to hear this. My thoughts are with you xoxo

  3. My deepest sympathy to the whole family. I have loved this blog and have come here to find resource ideas. We will pray for her and remember her especially on All Souls’ Day.

    Eva

  4. Our love and prayers for your family, Iona, and our condolences. I loved your mom as a dear friend and sister in Christ and I am so sad that she has left this life for the next. I will have Mass said for the repose of her soul. I will miss her gentle smile which I could ‘hear’ i her writing and her good humor and loving thoughtfulness. – in the Sacred & Immaculate Hearts – shana

  5. I am in shock. Really, really in shock… Michelle has been such an encouragement in my life. We’ve struggled with similar symptoms with a complex illness, and I’m thankful that through the magic of the internet through blogging and Facebook we’ve been able to be friends. You will all be in my prayers, and I will be praying for the repose of her soul as well. Iona, I’m sending you and your family all my love, and I so wish that I didn’t live in another corner of the world — I’m crying as I write this. May our Lord be with you all… may your mama’s soul rest among the righteous where there is neither sickness nor sighing nor sorrow, and may her memory be eternal… Words are so useless in times like these – other than in prayer… Lord have mercy on us all…
    all my love,
    Little Nonna

  6. I am so so very sorry. Your mum has been in my prayers these past weeks. I cannot believe the news and if I cannot comprehend it all, only the good Lord truly knows how you are feeling. My continued prayers for you all and when I’m next at church I will have a mass said for her and you all.

    God Bless and thank you for letting us know the news.

    San xxx

  7. I am so very sorry and shocked to hear this sad news. My deepest sympathies go to you and all the family, Iona. Your mum used to visit my own site often and we would regularly swap a few words. She seemed like an extraordinary lady and I felt like I knew her. She will be sadly missed but welcomed in heaven.

    Love, thoughts and prayers go to you all.

    Stuart Frew

  8. You are all in my prayers x

  9. My most sincere condolences…while I have never met Michelle, I have been truly inspired by her. She has encouraged me no end in my endeavours to home educate. A promise of prayer for you and the rest of the family and I will have a Mass said for the repose of Michelle’s good soul.

  10. So sorry for your loss. Praying for Shells soul and for you all at this difficult time.

  11. I would see your mum’s site name and comments every now and then on sites that I visit, but I’ve never come to her site before today, having heard about her death. I am sorry for your loss, and I will remember her in my prayers.

  12. I am shocked to hear of this sad news. This blog has been such a wealth of help and encouragement in home education. I will be praying for the repose of Michelle’s soul and for all your family.

  13. Oh my goodness, what a shock.
    GOD BLESS YOU.
    I have recieved details of the funeral from the Catholic Home Ed list I am on, and if I can, I will come.
    Prayers.
    GOD BLESS
    XXXXX

  14. So very sad to read of Michelle’s death: Her blog was an inspiration and she will be missed by many, many people like myself whom she never met. I will offer up our family Rosary intention to pray for the repose of her soul and for your whole family.
    Requiem aeternam dona ei, Domine, et lux perpetua luceat ei, Requiescat in pace. Amen.
    May God bless and comfort you all,
    Antonia & family

  15. I am missing Shell so much too…I still feel unbelievably shocked and so sad to know I’ll never write to her again. But I had this most amazing experience today when our little daughter Grace went to have her tooth extracted under GA. I had decided to offer all my anxiety for Shell, and her suffering family. Usually I would have been emotionally all over the place, but as I lay my baby on the operating theatre and watched them put her gently to sleep , I felt this peace come over me, as if I wasn’t alone. I could feel Shell’s prayers in a real and tangible way.
    Shell suffered in this life, she definitely walked with Christ and I know she’ll be in Heaven praying for us all very soon, if she’s not already ensconced there with the Angels and Saints. God Bless you and God Bless a true and dear friend.

  16. I still miss Shell tremendously and think and pray for her family daily. I sent an e-mail to her account and hope that you all know what a great friend and inspiration she was to me. My Pastor assures me that each day it will get a bit easier for all of us who knew and loved her. Hugs to the Al and the kids!!xo-Kalei

  17. I have only just read this. I am so so sorry for your loss. I have been reading here for years. Your mum was a very, very special lady. I could never imagine how she did all that she did, except of course through the grace and strength of God. I so appreciated her insights and honesty, and courage in not holding back what she wrote on here. God bless and comfort you all; you will definitely be in my prayers.

  18. i have only just read this.I am very sorry to hear about your mum passing away. I enjoyed reading her blog her views made me think when i used to get rather uptight with our Local authority.She was a very wise women i talked to her a number of times via the comments section of this blog and her advice was always very good and helped calm me down! Very little i can say to help but she touched a lot of people and i will miss reading about her life and her thoughts on various subjects

Leave a comment