Christmas cake recipe

food-n-things-004I have found that if I soak the fruit for about a week I don’t need to feed the cake.

For a 9″ round or 8″ square tin take

3 lbs of dried fruit: go for a mix a bit like this: 13oz raisons, 10 oz sultanas 6oz dried cranberries, 4 oz dried blueberries, 6 oz glace cherries, 6 oz of chopped dates, 3 oz of mixed peel (if you like it). Mix it all around in the bowl and throw in a mans handful of ground almonds.

Add a generous teaspoon of Christmas/Allspice and a teaspoon of mixed spice. Stir it in.

SOAKING: If you can use alcohol I recommend either a can of Mackesons or half a can of Guinness (drink the other half or soak up some beef for beef and stout pie later). You can also add a splash of brandy or some such thing.

If you are not able to use alchohol then soak the fruit in about 9fl oz of orange juice and the juice of a lemon. You can add the lemon zest to the mixture.

Leave it for at least overnight but better yet a little longer.

food-n-things-009

In a large pan put 9oz of soft brown sugar, 13 oz of butter or marg and 3 desertspoons of black treacle.

Put it on the hob on a fairly low heat and just melt it all together. Once it is melted and a lovely black treaclely gloopy mix then let it cool a little and then pour in the fruit and mix it all together.

Now-it’s the bit where you either need arms that work well or a daughter with arms that work well.

Enter Iona:

Add 6oz of plain flour and 6oz of wholemeal self raising flour (or make the plain wholemeal and the SR white) Add 4 eggs and another splash of orange (or brandy) and mix it together.

Pour into a greased and lined tin and put on the bottom shelf of the oven on gas mark 1or 2 (140 C 275 F) for about 3 and half hours.

It makes a lovely dark rich and moist cake. Marzipan and ice to your preference.

5 responses to “Christmas cake recipe

  1. I make a similar fruit cake, but it is a very light color and rather than orange juice, a can of crushed pineapple in its own juice (as opposed to heavy syrup) is added to the pounds of dried fuit. One of the old Catholic-pages friends (Lilo) sent it to me. Apparently it comes from her German heritage. Its incredibly rich and almost pudding-like.

    Kikkoman’s plum wine is another good and fragrant alcohol to soak fruit in for this cake if one has no pineapple on hand.

    Yesh. Hic. And adding plum wine after to shoke into da kake ish marveloush, tew. hic. hic….hic.

    Did I ever mention that I do like a bit of Kikkoman’s plum wine?

  2. I used to soak the fruit in 2 tablespoons of brandy overnight before baking the cake.

    However, I had to make 2 fruit cakes in Jan for my parent’s Ruby Wedding Anniv party and didn’t get round to the second one til the night before. The fruit had been in the fridge with the brandy for 10 days and my Dad pronounced it the best cake ever, so I shall do that again for the Christmas Cake.

    Interesting to read that you are already doing a similar thing.

  3. Wow. And here I thought there was only one fruitcake in the world that got passed from relative to relative!

  4. I am going to have to make this one. I haven’t ever made a Christmas Cake. This one sounds delicious.

    Therese

  5. It is sitting on my cooling tray at the moment Shell. Looks great and smells delicious.

    Thanks for this recipe.

    Therese

Leave a comment